The Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient, Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU), was passed by Congress in August, 2005, reauthorizing the Surface Transportation Act. As part of this reauthorization, grantees applying for funds under the New Freedom Initiative (5317), Job Access and Reverse Commute (JARC-5316) and Elderly and Disabled Transportation Program (5310) must meet certain planning requirements starting in FY2007 and continuing indefinitely.

SAFETEA-LU specifically requires projects for the three above programs to be part of a public transit plan that is both locally developed and coordinated. The development of this plan must include representatives of transportation and human services transportation providers, whether they are public, private, or non-profit providers.

The process is designed to identify the needs of three targeted groups: Individuals with disabilities, older adults, and people with low incomes. These targeted groups should not only be the focus when discussing needs, but they should be included in the public participation process. The development of this plan should also identify strategies to meet local needs, and prioritize the strategies for funding, time and feasibility constraints. Additionally, the plan should maximize the effectiveness of coverage by minimizing overlaps in services, while addressing gaps in current service.



Narrative regarding Community Development projects like Senior Housing is pending.



Planning is a rational way of preparing for the future. The comprehensive or general plans of local governments are goal driven documents that represent a vision and a guide for desirable future physical development and attempt to reconcile the relationships between physical development and the social and economic goals of the community.

The plan is a comprehensive inventory of elements and resources that affect community development. Typical plan elements include; demographics and population projections, land-use, transportation, community facilities, natural and cultural resources, housing and economic development. Information from these elements is used to develop alternatives and strategies for arriving at the communities preferred future development goals.

SMCOG has prepared numerous plans for communities in southwest Missouri.



Narrative regarding Economic Development projects.



Narrative regarding Economic Development projects.


The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) defines hazard mitigation as "Any sustained action taken to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk to human life and property from hazards." It has been demonstrated that hazard mitigation is most effective when based on an inclusive, comprehensive, long-term plan that is developed before a disaster occurs.

The Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (DMA 2000), for the first time, required state and local governments to prepare and adopt hazard mitigation plans approved by FEMA as a condition of eligibility for receiving hazard mitigation grants under several programs. The State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) relies on a partnership with regional planning commissions throughout the state to help local jurisdictions develop and adopt countywide, multi-jurisdictional, multi-hazard mitigation plans.

In 2004 and 2005, SMCOG assisted many counties in the region with developing their first mitigation plans. DMA 2000 also requires that these plans be updated every five years in order for state and local jurisdictions to maintain eligibility for Hazard Mitigation Assistance. The update process is currently underway at the county level for many communities in the region. Below is a summary of each jurisdictions hazard mitigation plan update status and a link to that community's plan update page on the SMCOG website.



In 2006, the signing of Missouri executive order 06-09 formed nine Regional Homeland Security Oversight Committees (RHSOC) throughout Missouri, based upon the existing nine State Highway Patrol troop areas. Missouri's Homeland Security Regionalization Program focuses on establishing a common sense, logical governance structure and process to facilitate local, community level engagement in not only grant funding priorities and strategies, but other homeland security related decisions. Core disciplines at the county/local level have been identified as voting participants in these regional committees. While only one individual from each discipline in a specific region holds a voting seat on the committee, it is mandated that they represent all segments of their core discipline members in their region, including both county and local interests. They accomplish this through working groups within each discipline that are all inclusive of their specific discipline in their geographic region. The RHSOCs meet quarterly, with additional meetings called as needed to deal with specific issues.

The lead regional planning commission (RPC) serves as the primary administrative agent for the committees and as well as the fiscal agent for the administration of the grant programs. The RPCs assist in organizational coordination and funding administration duties. The Southwest Missouri Council of Governments is the lead RPC for Region D, with assistance from Harry S. Truman Coordinating Council and the Kaysinger Basin Regional Planning Commission. Region D includes Barry, Barton, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Polk, St. Clair, Stone, Taney, Vernon, and Webster counties.

Visit the Region D RHSOC website for further information about the program, resources, and other funding and training opportunities.

Southwest Missouri Council of Governments
c/o Center for Resource Planning and Management
Levy-Wolf Building
110 Park Central Square
Springfield, MO 65806

Tel: 417-836-6900

Fax: 417-836-4146

Mail: 901 S. National Ave.

Springfield, MO 65897

Copyright © 2017 SMCOG - Southwest Missouri Council of Governments

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now