In 2006, the signing of Missouri executive order 06-09 formed nine Regional Homeland Security Oversight Committees (RHSOC) throughout Missouri, based upon the existing nine State Highway Patrol troop areas. Missouri's Homeland Security Regionalization Program focuses on establishing a common sense, logical governance structure and process to facilitate local, community level engagement in not only grant funding priorities and strategies, but other homeland security related decisions. Core disciplines at the county/local level have been identified as voting participants in these regional committees. While only one individual from each discipline in a specific region holds a voting seat on the committee, it is mandated that they represent all segments of their core discipline members in their region, including both county and local interests. They accomplish this through working groups within each discipline that are all inclusive of their specific discipline in their geographic region. The RHSOCs meet quarterly, with additional meetings called as needed to deal with specific issues.

The lead regional planning commission (RPC) serves as the primary administrative agent for the committees and as well as the fiscal agent for the administration of the grant programs. The RPCs assist in organizational coordination and funding administration duties. The Southwest Missouri Council of Governments is the lead RPC for Region D, with assistance from Harry S. Truman Coordinating Council and the Kaysinger Basin Regional Planning Commission. Region D includes Barry, Barton, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Polk, St. Clair, Stone, Taney, Vernon, and Webster counties.

Visit the Region D RHSOC website for further information about the program, resources, and other funding and training opportunities.


Southwest Missouri Council of Governments
c/o Center for Resource Planning and Management
Levy-Wolf Building
110 Park Central Square
Springfield, MO 65806

Tel: 417-836-6900

Fax: 417-836-4146

Mail: 901 S. National Ave.

Springfield, MO 65897

Copyright © 2017 SMCOG - Southwest Missouri Council of Governments

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now