SMCOG logo (stacked text)board 1.png


What is SMCOG? [Sim-Cog]

The Southwest Missouri Council of Governments (SMCOG) is an association of local governments and stakeholders, and is the federally-designated Economic Development District for the ten-county area of Southwest Missouri. SMCOG  oversees the growth and development of the reigon and provides professional services and information to assist cities and counties with development issues. 

What do we do? 

Established in May of 1989, SMCOG offers a unique set of programs at the local and regional level. The purpose of the Council is to promote area-wide dissemination of information regarding issues and problems and to provide technical and advisory services for community betterment.

See our services page for further information

SMCOG serves ten Southwest Missouri counties in the Springfield area. These include Barry, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Greene, Lawrence, Polk, Stone, Taney, and Webster counties. SMCOG is one of 19 active regional planning organizations throughout Missouri.

What makes SMCOG different from other Council of Governments? 

SMCOG is administered and operated through the Center for Resource Planning and Management at Missouri State University. SMCOG is the only regional council in Missouri affiliated with a university. Through this unique partnership, SMCOG has access to a wide variety of resources and technical assistance at the university. SMCOG's interaction with Southwest Missouri's local governments enhances Missouri State's Public Affairs Mission.

Where does SMCOG get their funding?


SMCOG operates under a variety of funding sources from the local, state and federal levels. Local revenues are derived from membership fees and charges for extra or special services such as local planning, grant administration, or technical contracts.

For more information on SMCOG, click here to view see our overview brochure