

# Southwest Missouri Council of Governments Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Wednesday, June 24, 2020 9:00 a.m. Virtual Meeting via Zoom

# **Attendance:**

#### Members:

Chris Coulter – Greene County Frank Schoneboom - Battlefield Bob Senninger – Lawrence County Stan Whitehurst - Webster County Sherry Coker - OTO Todd Wiesehan - Christian County Dennis Pyle - Monett Howard Fisk – Fisk Transportation Sam Rost - Marshfield Debra Hickey - Battlefield Duane Lavery – GRO Marshfield Edd Akers – Branson Joel Hornickel – Branson Cindy Robbins - Nixa Shawn Barry – Toth & Assoc Gail Noggle - Bolivar Neil Brady – Bartlett & West Kathy Smith – N-Form Architecture John Forrester - Allgeier, Martin & As-SOC Martha Smart - Strafford

Hollie Elliott – Dallas County Isabella Karallas- TREKK Steve Schultz – Bartlett & West Andrew Eckhart – Anderson Engin. Devin Fisher – White River Electric Allen Kunkel - MSU

Ron Mersch - Olsson

Callie Linville – City Utilities
Dana Louderbaugh – Fair Grove
Andrea Sitzes – Show Me Christian Co
Jerry Harman – Kimberling City
Lindsey Reichert – Paragon Architecture
Mary Lilly-Smith – Springfield
Brendan Griesemer - Springfield
Angela Leist – Forsyth
Danny Perches - SREP
Hank Smythe – Stone County
Mark Maples – Stone County

#### **Partners and Guests**

Beth Schaller - MoDOT Frank Miller - MoDOT Joelle Cannon – Senator Blunt's Office Clayton Campbell – Senator Hawley's Office Rep. John Black Rep. Sonya Anderson Ronda Burnett - MDC Mary Rajek - MoDED Lynn Wehmeier – Workforce Development Sara Fields -OTO Alex Cobb - Senior Age Pamela Duitsman – MU Extension Randall Willoughby - DNR Theresa Sampaio – MoDED

## Staff:

Jason Ray Jane Hood Dorothy Wittorff-Sandgren Brandon Jenson Courtney Pinkham Will Mansfield Jack Wendel

# **Open Meeting**

Introductions and Announcements— Chris Coulter

# Approval of June 24, 2020 Meeting Agenda—Chris Coulter

Dana Louderbaugh motioned and Todd Wiesehan seconded to approve the Agenda for the June 24, 2020 meeting. Motion Carried.

# Approval of May 27, 2020 Meeting Minutes— Chris Coulter

Dennis Pyle motioned and Gail Noggle seconded to approve the Minutes for the May 27, 2020 meeting. Motion Carried.

## **Legislative Reports**

# Clayton Campbell - Senator Hawley's Office

Senator Hawley received calls from constituents regarding the delay in the EIDL Loan processing. In a hearing, he was able to question the director of SBA regarding this issue. Clayton encouraged those who are continuing to have issues with federal agencies to contact their office so they can advocate for you. Does not know when or if there will be a Phase 4 at this point.

#### Joelle Cannon – Senator Blunt's Office

Phase 4 COVID & CARES Act Relief Bill will be looked at probably in August. After that will look at appropriations bills in the fall.

#### **State Representative Sonya Anderson**

As is constitutionally required, a balanced budget was passed. \$35 billion budget. CARES Act funding should help many in the area. Revenues are down due to economy being shut down. Should see revenues beginning to increase. \$8 million was appropriated to help county jails. \$18.5 appropriated for tourism. Increases in Broadband and Fasttrack (workforce development) Only 51 bills were passed from 2000 filed. Governor has until 7/14/20 to sign the bills. Otherwise they go into effect the end of August. Those that are vetoed by the Governor will result in a veto session in September.

#### **State Representative John Black**

Many people are having questions on the CARES Act money. K-12 schools seems to have a little more flexibility than higher ed. Some additional flexibility coming for local governments. Will probably have a special session. Will probably be having a special session in Jefferson City. Let him know if there is anything he can do.

## **Business Meeting**

1. Nominating Committee Report – Chris Coulter

Jason Ray reported that the nominating committee this year was Howard Fisk, Frank Schone-boom, Dana Louderbaugh, and Gail Noggle. The proposed slate of Non-Governmental Representatives and Executive Committee were sent out prior to the meeting. Chris Coulter asked if there were any nominations from the floor to be added. There were none. It was noted that Cy Murray has retired from White River Electric and Devin Fisher will be replacing him on the Board.

- (a) Motion made by Howard Fisk and seconded by Martha Smartt to approve the nominations for the Executive Committee and Officers. Motion carried.
- (b) Motion made by Todd Wiesehan and seconded by Howard Fisk to replace Cy Murray with Devin Fisher as a non-governmental representative. Motion carried. (Voted on by Governmental Representatives of the Board.)

Motion made by Duane Lavery and seconded by Dana Louderbaugh to approve the nominations for non-governmental representatives including the just amended change adding Devin Fisher to replace Cy Murray. Motion carried. (Voted on by Governmental Representatives of the Board.)

# 2. Appointment of Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) - Chris Coulter

List of Transportation Advisory Committee was emailed out prior to meeting. Each county has two representatives plus an alternate which were nominated by each of our 10 counties as their representatives on the TAC.

Motion made by Martha Smartt and seconded by Duane Lavery to approve the appointment of the Transportation Advisory Committee. Motion carried.

# 3. Approval of 3<sup>rd</sup> Quarter FY20 Financials – Jason Ray

The financials were sent out prior to the meeting. Jason reviewed with the Board. Motion made by Gail Noggle and seconded by Martha Smartt to approve the 3<sup>rd</sup> quarter FY20 Financial Report. Motion carried.

#### 3. **Program Updates** – Jason Ray

Program updates were sent out prior to meeting. See that report.

#### **Partner Updates**

**Mo Dept of Transportation** – Frank Miller reported that funding is uncertain as they are \$45 million below their projected budget due to COVID. They are delaying letting of projects and the Governor's Cost Share program was cut by \$25 million. 80% of MoDOT staff is working 80% time for 12 weeks to reduce costs. There is delay in mowing and striping. Should save them \$20 million.

**Ozarks Transportation Organization-** Sara Fields – The Transportation Highway Trust Fund is in bad shape. The James River Express expansion is delayed. Top priorities are I-44, US 60, James River Freeway, Kansas throughout Springfield. No way to fund them right now. Working on their long range plan. Taking public comments at www.giveusyourinput.org. Look for Destination 2045.

**Dept of Conservation** – Ronda Burnett – They have published the outreach section of the Missouri Bird Conservation Plan. MDC is getting ready for the summer Ferrell Hog elimination. There is no cost to the private land owner.

**Workforce Development -**Lynn Wehmeier – Return Strong Campaign has launched. The reopening of Job Centers has started. Springfield was the first Job Center to open. Branson to open soon.

**Mo Dept of Economic Development** – Mary Rajek – Community available COVID testing will be opening in the area. Trying to identify the gaps and needs in the area. Working on various

grant opportunities. Missouri Development Finance Board is working on a low interest loan program to communities 25,000 or less. Has not been approved yet.

**Senior Age** – Alex Cobb – Just received another grant from Community Foundation of the Ozarks from the relief fund. Senior Age is looking to hire a volunteer coordinator and a development director. Their centers are still closed to the public. Since mid-March have served over 100,000 meals more than they usually do this time of the year.

# **Member Announcements**

<u>Adjourn</u>		
Gail Melgren motioned, and Dennis Pyle seconded.	Motion Carried.	
Todd Wiesehan, Secretary/Treasurer		Date Approved