

# Enhancing the quality of our communities through regional cooperation

# Southwest Missouri Council of Governments Board of Directors Meeting Notice Wednesday, August 24, 2011 9:00 a.m. Library Station, Frisco Room 2535 N. Kansas, Springfield, MO 65806

### **AGENDA**

# **Open Meeting**

- 1. Call to Order and Opening Ceremonies: Pledge of Allegiance (Mike Chipman)
- 2. Introductions and Announcements (Mike Chipman)
- Approval of Meeting Agenda (Mike Chipman)
   BOARD OF DIRECTORS ACTION REQUESTED TO APPROVE AGENDA FOR THE AUGUST 24, 2011 MEETING
- Approval of June 22, 2011 Meeting Minutes (Mike Chipman)
   BOARD OF DIRECTORS ACTION REQUESTED TO APPROVE MINUTES OF THE JUNE 22, 2011 BOARD MEETING
- 5. Guest Speaker: Ryan Nicholls, Springfield/Greene County Emergency Management Joplin Tornado

### **Legislative Reports**

- A. David Rauch, Senator McCaskill's Office
- B. Stacy Burks/Steve McIntosh, Senator Bunt's Office
- C. Matt Baker, Congressman Long's Office
- D. Darren Lingle, Congresswoman Emerson's Office

# **Business**

- 1. Appointment of Non-governmental Board Members (Mike Chipman)
- 2. Transportation Report (Dan Watts)
- 3. Homeland Security Regionalization Program (Dorothy Wittorff-Sandgren)

- 4. Broadband Regional Plan & Electric Coop Hazard Mitigation Plan Updates (Dave Faucett)
- 5. Director's Report

(Diane May & Jane Hood)

- A. MACOG Activities Update
  - 1. Sustainable Communities Regional Planning Grant Program
- B. CDBG Planning Grant
- C. Hazard Mitigation Plan Updates Status
- D. EDA Update
- 6. Other Business

## **Partner Agency Updates**

- A. Mark Hultgren, USDA-Rural Development
- B. Valerie Robinson, MoDNR
- C. Frank Miller, MoDOT SW District
- D. Sara Edwards, Ozarks Transportation Organization
- E. Candy Adams, SEMA
- F. Ronda Headland, Missouri Department of Conservation
- G. Bill Dowling, Ozark Region Workforce Investment Board

# **Member Announcements**

# Adjourn

Next SMCOG Board Meeting: Annual Breakfast Meeting
October 26, 2011

Meeting Notice and Revised Agenda Posted: Thursday, August 18, 2011, 4:00 p.m.

Copies Available: Southwest Missouri Council of Governments 901 S. National Ave Springfield, MO 65897 417-836-6900